Like the unravelling of a detective plot backwards, this year, for our fifth annual history conference, it seems only logical that the Idea of Nationalism, the Idea of India and the Idea of Culture should pave the way for a conference around the Indian Constitution.

We live in times when critical thinking and questioning have become crucial. Who really is a citizen; what can this citizen do within their rights; does criticizing the actions of a political individual or party qualify as being anti-national; what then does it mean to be a ‘national’; what does the ‘law of the land’ say; What do ‘Justice’, ‘Liberty’, ‘Equality’, ‘Fraternity’ mean?

We cordially invite your participation at the fifth annual History for Peace Conference—to discuss, debate and explore ideas with us on how to bring these and all other pertinent issues into history classrooms, yes, but also into political science classrooms, geography classrooms, environmental studies classrooms—in fact into our education system!

Registration is open now


The Idea of the Indian Constitution

26, 27, 28 July 2019

Tollygunge Club, Calcutta


The conference programme will be shared soon. Follow this space and/or the History for Peace page on Facebook for further updates.

List of finalized speakers includes:

A G Noorani, lawyer, constitutional expert and political commentator. He has practised as an advocate in the Supreme Court of India and in the Bombay High Court.

Valerian Rodrigues, political scientist, professor and author, known for his seminal work on Babasaheb Ambedkar and for his formulations of themes in Modern Indian Political Thought. He has held the first Ambedkar Chair at the Ambedkar University Delhi.

Siva Kumar, contemporary art historian, art critic and curator.

Pratap Bhanu Mehta, a political scientist who has taught at Harvard University, Jawaharlal Nehru University, and the New York University School of Law.

Rajeev Bhargava, a noted Indian political theorist, who was the professor of political theory at the Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi.

Shambhaji Bhagat, a teacher, poet, singer, and a prominent Dalit protest musician.

Siddharth Varadarajan, an Indian American journalist, editor, political analyst, and academic. Former editor of The Hindu and founding editor atThe Wire.

Nandini Sundar, a professor of sociology at the Delhi School of Economics and recipient of the Infosys Prize for Social Sciences, 2010.

Krishna Kumar, an Indian intellectual, academician and former Director of the NCERT.

Gautam Bhatia, Supreme Court lawyer and author of The Transformative Constitution.

Romila Thapar, noted historian, author of several books and currently Professor Emerita, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi.

Vrinda Grover, lawyer, researcher, and human rights and women’s rights activist.

Udayon Misra, former Professor and HOD of English of Dibrugarh University, Assam. He has written extensively on the society and politics of India’s North East.

Babloo Loitongbam, lawyer, anthropologist and human rights activist engaged in the protection of human rights in the northeast of India for more than 20 years.

Mridu Rai, historian, Professor at Presidency University, Kolkata and author of the prizewinning book Hindu Rulers, Muslim Subjects: Islam, Rights, and the History of Kashmir.

Shah Faesal, independent politician, Jammu and Kashmir and the first Kashmiri to place first in the Indian Civil Services Examination.

Shehla Rashid, politician and PhD student at Jawaharlal Nehru University.


Dedicated to the memory of PeaceWorks friend and patron Kozo Yamamura (1934 – 2017)

Supported by Takshila Education Society


Leave a Reply


By subscribing to our mailing list you will always be updated with the latest news from us.

Join Us

Your privacy is important to us and we will never rent or sell your information.



Go up

Powered by